---
title: "Reviewer"
canonical: "https://support.soutron.net/space/HG/3280012/Reviewer"
format: markdown
---
When the user is in the Reviewer Navigation section, the navigation bar entry will show a Blue i icon which the user can click to view additional localised information about this section.  The entry shown will be configurable by the System Administrators for the Portal and Record Type shown.

![image](media://d2cd26a9-943a-4a15-a3aa-8bfd177df7f2)


There are fundamentally two types of Reviewer:

1. Reviewers that the submitter assigns
2. Reviewers that are automatically set which the Submitter cannot change.

---

### Reviewers That The Submitter Assigns  
  


The Review functionality will be controlled by the Record Type setting – Allow RDR Reviews

If Allow RDR Reviews is enabled, then in the Reviewers section, the submitter can do two key things:

1. Assign a Workflow
2. Assign Users to review

When submitting a new record, when the user arrives at this page, they will see an unpopulated page:

![image](media://d693443a-06aa-40b9-a1f7-1aca8a696202)

**Assign a workflow**

The page shows on the right-hand side, a drop down menu that contain two or more workflows, if only one workflow has been created then this will not be shown. So if in System Maintenance, only One workflow has been created, the user can’t select from drop down as there is only one choice.

The workflows determine the Deadline that the submitter wants to set and is shown in the Submission header. The deadlines have to take into account working days only.

Workflows are defined by the System Administrators in the admin application.

**Assign Users to review**

Reviews can be assigned in one of two ways (or a combination of the two). 

**Automatically assigning users as Reviewers**

If Users have been defined with a Thesaurus Category Term which has then been included in the metadata and/or if a Workflow has been defined with users, then these will be shown automatically as suggested Reviewers.  

If the above has not been defined the user can manually assign users as described below or in addition add additional users as reviewers.

Note: the automatic assignment will only work if the metadata record has been assigned either a Validation or Thesaurus field that has been associated with users.

**Manually assigning Users as Reviewers**

On the left-hand side, a user search control is shown along with a blue search button.  The submitter can search and assign a user by starting to type and then selecting a user from the suggestion that will be automatically shown or they can ignore the suggestion and click on the search button to return results in a table below.

When searching, the submitter is able to search user fields defined by the System Administrators, so if for example the submitter knows a user’s username, they could search by this and if using suggestion, the first name and surname of the user will be shown, sorted by Surname then First Name Ascending.

If the user opts to click the search button, the table will be shown:

![image](media://16185e60-7031-4793-b4e6-082f41667254)

The table will contain user fields determined by the System Administrators.

In the event that the System Administrators has not defined any fields, then the following Columns will be shown:

**Name**  
This column will contain matching users first and surname – order of entries in table will be determined by the sort of the Name which by default will be in Ascending order of the users surname then first name.

**Leaving Date**

If the user has a leaving Date defined then this will be shown, in the event that the Workflow Deadline date is on or after the Leaving Date, the Leaving Date will be shown in Red and Bold so that the Submitter is alerted to this. If none of the selected users have a leaving date defined, then this column will be hidden – so it only shows if one or more users has a leaving date.

**Out of Office Until Date**

Not shown in Screen shot but if any user has assigned themselves to be “Out of Office” in the My Account – Out of Office function - Then the out of offices date(s) will be shown in this column.  Note if the out of office dates are on or within the Workflow Deadline date, then again, the entry will be shown in Red and bold.  (A user will be able to assign themselves as “Out of Office” in their Account Profile in My Account).

**Actions**

The actions columns contains a Green **Add **button which when clicked will add the user to the **Assigned Reviewers **table that if this is the first user to be added, will then automatically appear on the right-hand side, below Workflows.

![image](media://cc72917c-35c7-4585-9af8-7490d7081ecc)

If the submitter wants to assign another user, they can repeat the process and add more users (There is no limit to the number of users that can be added).

![image](media://e0ef92b5-4fd9-44b7-8411-3d97e712c35e)

The Selected Reviewers table contains the following columns:

**Name**

The Users First name and Surname will be shown

**Date Assigned**

When a user has just been added, this column will be blank but will get populated when the Record is submitted

**Role**

There will be four roles that can be selected in RDR:

- Reviewer

This will be set by default and means that the assigned user is expected to actively review the record being submitted.  This has an important implication in that the Review process is not completed until all reviewers with “Reviewer” role have completed or have been removed or delegated.

- Inform

If the Submitter assigns this role, then the user will be informed (when the Submitter submits the record) but this will not hold up the process like the Review Role will i.e. Once all Review Roled users have completed the Submitter will be able to continue the process. 

The purpose of this function is to alert a user that this record has been submitted but the submitter is not expecting any action or comments from them – although they are welcome to comment should they wish to do so.

- Reviewer - Do Not Notify

This would not be assigned at the start of the process and can only be assigned by a Reviewer.

- Delegated Submitter

In the event that the submitter wishes to assign Submitter rights to another user, i.e. Submitter will be unavailable, then the Submitter can Assign a role of Delegated Submitter to a user.

**Status**

When a user has just been added, this column will show a status of **New**, it will change automatically through the process.


**Actions**

For a new Submission, the Actions columns will show initially two buttons:

**Remove** button, which the Submitter can click on to remove a user should they change their mind. When they click on the Remove button, the user will be asked if they are sure.  

**Replace** button, if the submitter identifies that a reviewer is out of the office, they may decide to replace this user with another user.  Clicking this button will ask the user if they are sure and, should they continue, they will be presented with search box where they can search for another user, when they select that user, the existing entry will be replaced with a new user.  This will be logged in the Overview as an event.

**Pre-Selected Reviewers**

If the Metadata contains a thesaurus field that matches those assigned to a user and/or if the workflow has been assigned certain reviewers, then the Reviewers table will be shown pre-populated. The submitter can remove users, if they wish, and add new users using the manual search control described above.

Once the Submitter has added the users they want to add to review their record/document, they can click on the Green Next button.

![image](media://47172da9-333a-472b-a236-9e734dc16632)

Clicking this will Save the Record.  It will also automatically take the Submitter to the Comments Section.  (Note users can also go back using the grey PREV button shown to the left)

If Allow RDR Reviews is NOT enabled for the Record Type being submitted, then the Review Tab will not be shown, and thus the Submitter will only see The Metadata tab and the [Comments](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3279845) Tab.