---
title: "Submission Top Level Functions"
canonical: "https://support.soutron.net/space/HG/3279986/Submission%20Top%20Level%20Functions"
format: markdown
---
On the right-hand side of the Submission page are buttons as well as a Comment section. For a new submission these will be shown as follows:

![image](media://3d924736-69d9-4850-abad-492dea1dff87)

**Save**

The green save button is shown whenever a new entry is created, and metadata has been entered. Its purpose is to allow the Submitter to save the entry as they go along.  If a user clicks on the green Next buttons in the Submission screens, this will also Save the Submission.

**Submit**

Once the submitter has met all the conditions and saved the record this blue Submit button will become active.  Its purpose is to allow the Submitter to Submit the record to the next stage of **Awaiting Review**, so clicking this will change the status to this entry.  At this point, the system will also automatically send an email to the reviewers with the New Submission Email Template which will contain either the Review or Inform template text along with a link to this Submission record.  In the event that email fails to send for some reason, the user will be notified by a message on screen “One or more emails failed to send, please check manually with users to see if they have received email and if not ask them to check their Reviews in My Account.”

At the point of Submission, the Audit table will also be updated in the Audit section, showing that the Record has now been submitted at which point the Blue Submit button will be removed.

**Delete**

The Delete button will only be shown to Submitters and Admin users.  This button allows the submission to be deleted.  The delete button when clicked will ask the user to confirm they want to delete the submission.

A submission can only be deleted up until the point it has been Submitted, after this only an Administrator can “Delete” the record using existing functionality in the LMS application.

**Close**

The Close button allows the Submitter to close this Submission record.  If the user clicks this and no changes have been made, then the record will close, and the user be directed to the home page of the portal of the link clicked.

**Create Comment**

The Create Comment button is used to save any text typed into the Comment Rich Text Editor. Once clicked, the comment is stored and displayed below the editor showing the name of the comment's creator and the date/time that it was created.