---
title: "Reviewer Approve or Reject Process"
canonical: "https://support.soutron.net/space/HG/3279859/Reviewer%20Approve%20or%20Reject%20Process"
format: markdown
---
Once a Reviewer has checked out the document(s) and added an entry to My comments (If mandatory*), they will see on the right-hand side the Approve and Reject buttons:

![image](media://de6f8617-cb58-4110-86ff-6e292b43a9d6)

*When Approving or Rejecting a submission there is an option in the configuration that allows the administrator to determine if the Comments field is mandatory or not.  By Default, it will not be mandatory.  This is described later in this help-guide.

**Summary of buttons**

##### **Save**

This button allows the Reviewer to save their progress without approving or rejecting the submission.

##### **Close**

This button will close the Review and return the user to the Portal page from which they originally accessed the system. Alternatively, if they have accessed the system from a link in an email, it will send them to the My Reviews section in My Account.

##### **Create Comment**

This allows the Reviewer to post a comment relative to the submission, either to confirm details relative to the document or seek guidance from the Submitter or other Reviewers assigned to the Review/Submission.

##### **Reject**

If the user does not agree with the submission, they can reject it by clicking the red **Reject **button. This will create a hard stop and the submission cannot continue and is assigned a status of **Rejected**.  Should the reviewer change their mind, a new submission will need to be created or re-submitted. When the reviewer rejects a submission, an email is sent to the Submitter informing them that Reviewer X has rejected it but other reviewers can continue to review it.  In addition, an email is sent to all users in the workflow. Thereby, all reviewers receive a message informing them that they do not need to continue with the review until a new workflow on the revised document has been launched.

When the user clicks on **Reject** they will see a confirmatory message, asking them if they are sure that they wish to reject the submission and, if so, to type a reason into the Submission Wizard's rich text editor. Once this is completed the user is asked if they wish to remain a **Reviewer **or change to **Inform** only status (although they can return and change this until the record becomes awaiting approval and the Audit table will reflect this).  If they remain as a Reviewer, should a Submitter re-submit at a later date, they once again will be asked to review the item. 

##### **Approve**

If the Reviewer wants to approve a submission,  they are able to do so by clicking on the Green **Approve **button.  The user will be able to change their mind up until the status changes to **Awaiting Approval**.

When the user clicks on **Approve** they will see a confirmatory message, asking them if they are sure that they wish to approve the submission and, if so, to type a reason into the Submission Wizard's rich text editor. Once this is completed the user is asked if they wish to remain a **Reviewer **or change to **Inform** only status (although they can return and change this until the record becomes awaiting approval and the Audit table will reflect this).  If they remain as a Reviewer, should a Submitter re-submit at a later date, they once again will be asked to review the item. 

If the reviewer is the last person (with a role of **Reviewer) **to review, when complete their submission an email will be sent to the Submitter informing them that the review process has been completed as well as providing a link to the review.  In addition, an email will be sent to all reviewers (unless they have selected Do Not Inform) that all reviews have been completed and the Submitter has been notified.

**Important: **If a reviewer has been assigned with the role of **Inform** then they will never see the Approve or Reject buttons, but they will be able to comment if they wish.