---
title: "Approval"
canonical: "https://support.soutron.net/space/HG/3279799/Approval"
format: markdown
---
When a Submission is Approved by its Reviewer(s) it is passed back to the Submitter for their approval. The Submitter will be notified via email that the review has been completed and that they now need to either Approve, Reject or Re-submit to complete the process. There will also be a hyperlink within the email which will enable the Submitter to access the submission. Alternatively, the Submitter is able to access the Reviewer Approved Submission from their My Account page.

![image](media://1ee88e3b-7622-420e-9fda-8459d15d9ccd)

  
You will notice that the Status has now changed to Awaiting Submitter Review.

Click on the Blue View icon > Macro (inline-media-image)

to view the Reviewer Approved Submission.

You will be presented with the Metadata area of the Submission Navigation Bar.

![image](media://f833abda-18cd-4122-ad1f-46e4d5ffb107)

The Metadata will be editable so that you can check that it is accurate and make any final edits should they be required.

Checkout the Reviewed Submission by clicking on the Blue Check-out icon > Macro (inline-media-image)

 in the All Documents area.

Once the item has downloaded the All Documents area will refresh to display further options, allowing you to Re-download, Cancel Check-out or Delete should any of these options be required.

![image](media://e9394e5c-d8ae-49a5-8b23-cff96e965ccc)

Browse to the Checked-out document on your PC. 

Review the document and ascertain whether you concur with the Reviews and Edits that have been made. If you feel that further changes need to be made, edit the document and, when you have finished, save the item back to your PC's hard drive. 

You now need to check the document back into the system. This can be done by either Dragging and Dropping the document into the Documents field on the Metadata screen or clicking on the Cloud icon and then browsing to the document on your PC and selecting it from your saved items.

![image](media://3291955d-f2d1-41fe-b2a0-e6319059af71)

You will notice that the file name will appear at the bottom of the Drag and Drop area and the bracketed version number will increment in the All Documents area.

![image](media://86b65aca-2401-4e53-82b0-80910fbb4a0b)

You are now able to Approve the Submission and pass it to an Administrator for final approval and upload to the catalogue. Or, if you disagree with the findings made by the Reviewers, either Cancel the Submission or Start a New Workflow. These options are all accessed via the Actions & Comments area on the right-hand side of the screen.  


---

## Actions & Comments

### Approve

If you are happy with the Edits and comments made, you can Approve the Submission and pass it to an Administrator for final approval and publication to the database. This is done by clicking on the Green Approve button on the far right hand side of the screen.  


![image](media://e824fede-c01d-4cef-afbf-2b04d0aec9f2)


When you click on Approve a confirmation message will appear asking if you are happy to send the submission for Administrative approval.  


![image](media://c3370241-c7f4-4bd4-8485-e89aadaa2569)


Type a comment into the Rich Text editor field, should you wish, and click on the Green Approve icon.

The system will confirm that the submission has been passed for Administrative approval and the Submission status will change accordingly. An email will also be automatically generated by the system and sent to the appropriate Administrator, to advise them that a document is awaiting their review and approval.

If, at this point, you should change your mind about having approved the submission or realise that you have done so by mistake, it is possible to reverse the decision by clicking upon the Yellow Un-Approve icon.  


![image](media://5ebe15ce-f6a9-49e5-a4fa-22f8b6990dc6)


Once you click on Un-Approve a message will appear asking you to confirm your decision.  


![image](media://46380ad6-9826-4d80-88c6-92f7a638224c)


Type a comment into the Rich Text editor field and click on the Yellow Un-Approve icon.

The Submission will revert to Awaiting Submitter Review status and the Green Approve icon will re-appear in the Actions & Comments area. The system will also advise all concerned parties of the status change via email.

###   
Start New Revision

  
After having examined your submission's review, you may feel that it needs further examination or additional work. If this is the case, it is possible to create a new revision by clicking on the Green Start New Revision Icon.


![image](media://f66a96cb-7ed3-4b67-8423-146d8ad7b1cb)


Once you click on Start New Workflow a message will appear asking you to confirm your decision.


![image](media://b9d34d5a-9073-40cc-874a-f176ab6a09c3)


Click on the Blue Yes icon to confirm.


A new review will be created, maintaining the existing Metadata but requiring a new document to be submitted.


![image](media://e564ab92-8562-4ec9-8d6b-032984419f09)


Notice that you can access the previous review via the View Related Submissions link in the Submission Status bar at the top of the screen.


![image](media://5e14e888-29b7-4da8-8a59-cc71252707c2)


Create your new submission and assign the appropriate workflow using the [previously described method](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3280022).

### Cancel

  
Should you no longer wish for your document to be considered for submission to the database you can cancel the process by clicking on the Yellow Cancel icon.


![image](media://f66a96cb-7ed3-4b67-8423-146d8ad7b1cb)

  
Once you click on Cancel a message will appear asking you to confirm your decision.


![image](media://73582090-56f6-46f7-b797-7830561c9792)

  
Type a comment into the Rich Text editor field and click on the Yellow Cancel Submission icon.


The submission will be cancelled and you will be returned to the My Account screen. An email will also be automatically created by the system and sent to all interested parties, advising them of the cancellation.


---