---
title: "Locking and unlocking user accounts"
canonical: "https://support.soutron.net/space/HG/3279233/Locking%20and%20unlocking%20user%20accounts"
format: markdown
---
User accounts can be locked. Locking an account means that the user cannot log in, so they will be unable to use [My Account (old)](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3278941). However, all other activities are unaffected, so library staff will still be able to loan items to the user, request items on their behalf, route journals to them, etc.

> ⚠️ This only applies to user records which have been created manually, ie not imported.
> ⚠️ 
> ⚠️ Note that only staff with a role of Administrator or Librarian are able to lock and unlock accounts.


The option to lock accounts is only available when editing a user record, ie it does not appear when creating a new user.

Having done a [search](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3279042), select the user record from the table, which takes you to the edit screen.

---

# Locking an account

At the top of the User Details screen, tick the "Account is Locked" box.

![image](media://f2979149-72a0-4df0-b161-6ecfc79fe9d9)

Then save and exit the record by clicking **Save** in the Actions menu.

# Unlocking an account

To unlock an account, simply untick the box as shown above and save the record.


---

Experiencing problems with managing user records? See the [Troubleshooting Guide](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3278771).