---
title: "Report Maintenance"
canonical: "https://support.soutron.net/space/HG/3279215/Report%20Maintenance"
format: markdown
---
This option allows you to create, edit or delete specific reports for exporting search results from the catalogue.

This page describes:

- creating a new report
- editing an existing report
- defining a default report
- activating / deactivating a report
- deleting a report

Within a report, you can define different layouts for different record types, so that one report can be used for exporting any search results irrespective of the record types contained in the results.

So generally you would design one report which would be the default for all record types, and perhaps create additional reports for specific purposes.

> ℹ️ If you design the reports so that the default settings are the ones you want the user to use most of the time, when reports are run the user will only need to click on Continue for each step in the [Export Wizard](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3278271).

---

**To access Report Defaults, select** <span style="color: #ff0000">**Modules > Export > Export Reports Maintenance**</span>.

The page displays as follows, listing all the reports which have been defined in the system:

![image](media://d28f1315-42f3-4d09-a17a-66bd51a73d18)


The screen shot above shows the reports which are pre-defined in the system. Note that these cannot be deleted or amended, but they can be de-activated.

# Creating a new report

To create a new report, select **Create new report** from the Actions menu.

The setup is divided into three sections:

- [Definition](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3279211) - report settings
- [Template](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3278715) - design and layout
- XML export settings - this only appears if you have allowed the XML export format in [Global Settings](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3278334)

# Editing an existing report 

To edit a report:

1. Tick the check box to the left of the report in the list
2. Select **Edit report** in the Actions menu
3. The "Report Settings" page opens - you may need to allow a couple of seconds for the settings to appear
4. Edit the report as required
5. Click **Save and close** in the Actions menu, or **Close** to close the report definition without saving

You will be returned to the Report Maintenance page.

# Defining a default report

You can select one report to be the default report that the user sees when selecting a report to use for exporting. This saves them time but they still have the full list to choose from. You do not have to select a default if this is not appropriate.

> ⚠️ **Note**: Once you have defined a default report you cannot then specify 'no default'. The default can only be changed by assigning another report instead.

To define a report as the default:

1. Tick the check box to the left of the report in the list
2. Select **Set default** in the Actions menu

The Default column next to the report then changes to a green tick.

# Activating / deactivating a report

All reports provided with the system are active by default. If a report is not active, it does not appear in the list of reports that the user can choose from when searching.

To change the availability of a report (you can only change one at a time):

1. Tick the check box to the left of the report in the list
2. Select **Change availability** in the Actions menu

The report's status will toggle to the opposite status to what it was before.

# Deleting a report

To delete a report:

1. Tick the check box to the left of the report in the list
2. Select **Delete report** in the Actions menu
3. Click OK when the alert message appears:> Macro (inline-media-image)

The deleted report is then no longer listed on the "Report Maintenance" page.