---
title: "User Profiles"
canonical: "https://support.soutron.net/space/HG/3279001/User%20Profiles"
format: markdown
---
The purpose of this option is to define a profile template that can then be automatically assigned to users of a particular user group. At present this relates to only one function, whether users will see local office copies only on the OPAC Summary and Locations screen. More functions will be added to the profile option in future releases.


> ⚠️ Note that this option is only available to Administrators.

This page describes:

- [creating](#UserProfiles-Creating_a_new_profile) a new profile
- [editing](#UserProfiles-Editing_a_User_Profile) a profile
- [applying bulk changes](#UserProfiles-Applying_bulk_changes)
- [activating and deactivating](#UserProfiles-Activating_and_deactivating_a_Profile) a profile
- [deleting](#UserProfiles-Deleting_a_User_Profile) a profile


---


**To access User Profiles, select** <span style="color: #ff0000">**Modules > Users > User Profile Template**</span>.

The following screen appears:


![image](media://a7d9dc39-0847-4ce2-a341-489b878dbba7)


By default the page shows all User Profiles: to show only Active ones, tick the "Show Active only" filter. 

# Creating a User Profile > Macro (anchor)



To create a profile, click **New profile** in the Actions menu.

A new screen opens:

![image](media://2117477f-b62e-4e57-9696-0b6085d7c142)


Define the profile as follows:


|  |  |
| --- | --- |
| **Profile name** | Enter a meaningful name for the profile |
| **User profile template is active** | Tick to make the profile active immediately; otherwise leave unpicked. |
| **Show local office copies only on catalogue locations** | This function determines whether the new option of showing local copies only to a user is available. If this box is ticked, users with this profile assigned will only see copies from their local office when viewing the OPAC Summary and Locations screen. |


### Finishing the process

When you have finished, click **Save Profile** in the Actions menu to return to the main User Profile Templates Maintenance screen, with the new User Profile displayed:

![image](media://0ab4ecda-493e-4749-851e-c3d5fc1e322b)


# Editing a User Profile > Macro (anchor)

  


To edit a User Profile:

1. tick the box next to it
2. then click **Edit profile** in the Actions menu. The same form opens up as for adding a new User Profile.
3. Make the required changes
4. then click **Save profile **in the Actions menu

Note that any changes you make to a profile will not be automatically applied to existing users of that profile.


# Applying bulk changes > Macro (anchor)



Once you have created a User Profile, you can automatically assign it to users that belong to one or more user groups:

1. Select the template
2. Tick the required user group
3. Click **Apply**

All options in the profile will then be assigned to all users with that profile.


> ❌ This will override any changes to a user's actual profile.

# Activating and deactivating a User Profile > Macro (anchor)

  


To activate or deactivate a User Profile, tick the box next to the User Profile and click **Change status** in the Actions menu.

# Deleting a User Profile > Macro (anchor)

  


To delete a User Profile:

1. tick the box next to it
2. then click **Delete profile** in the Actions menu


> ❌ There is no warning message before the User Profile is deleted.

The list of User Profiles is re-displayed, with the deleted entry no longer appearing.


---

**Experiencing problems with managing user records? See the **[**Troubleshooting Guide**](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3278771)**.**

See Also

[Allocating User Profiles to users](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3279006)

[Allocating User Profiles to User Groups](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3279016)