---
title: "Loan Preparation"
canonical: "https://support.soutron.net/space/HG/3278798/Loan%20Preparation"
format: markdown
---
Purpose of the Loan Preparation function is to allow a copy on order to be loaned when it is received

---

Access to the loan preparation function is always via the Order Line > Copies section and is provided by the **L** button in the distribution column of Physical Copies.

> ℹ️ **Loan Preparation**
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ A copy can only have **one** user assigned at any one time

To Create a **New **Loan Distribution, click on the **L **button as shown here:

![image](media://2197cba6-1c23-4be8-9f0d-39c7888c233b)

If a copy already has a loan prepared then the **L **button will be green and will show the first 10 characters of the users name as  shown here:

![image](media://cc7166a0-8e17-4478-8a77-7ef68045aa20)

You can change the loan preparation at any time prior to the copy being received, by clicking on the Green **L **button

When you click on the **L **button, the Loan Preparation popup will open:

If this is **new** Loan Preparation then it will look like this: Showing available users on the left and no assign users on the right.

![image](media://86f268ec-bfa0-4e3b-b713-0b716f4d4664)

If there is an **existing** Loan Preparation, then it will look like this: Showing the assigned user in the Selected Users table on the right.

![image](media://c78687f7-e0cf-47ef-b8df-366c930fa472)


**Assigning a user**

A user can be assigned by either searching for the user in the **User Search** box at the top of the left hand section and clicking on **Search**, which then returns matching results in the table below AND/OR in the **User Search Results** table, navigate through the listed users to identify the user required.

For the user you want to add, simply click on the Green + button > Macro (inline-media-image)

 and the user will be added to the Selected Users table on the right hand side as shown above.

Note: that if your copy already has a user assigned and you click on the green + button in the left hand section the following message will be shown, as only one user can be assigned to a copy:

![image](media://2c159fd2-9673-4c69-9173-96cc264fc7d5)

Once you have added the user click on the blue **Confirm** button at the bottom right of the popup window and the window will close and you will then see the new loan preparation has been assigned to the copy in the Physical Copies table:

![image](media://ec65c0c5-1bc0-455d-90fb-4537e8bb161e)

Alternatively you can click on the grey **Close** button to close the window without making any changes.

**Changing a loan preparation**

If you need to change the loan preparation, you can do so at any time prior to the copy being received.  Simply click the Green **L **in the Physical Copies table and click on the red **Remove **button in the Selected Users section of the popup window and if required search and select another user before clicking on **Confirm.**