---
title: "Deleting copies-old"
canonical: "https://support.soutron.net/space/HG/3277859/Deleting%20copies-old"
format: markdown
---
This function allows you to delete copy records. This can be done from either the [Locations table-Library (old)](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3279251) or the [Copy edit screen](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3278263), depending on whether you want to delete a single copies or multiple copies.


> ℹ️ Note that copy records are not actually deleted from the application, although they cannot be seen by OPAC users. This is so that if a missing copy reappears, you can easily [restore](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3279592) the copy record.

This page describes:

- [deleting a single copy](#Deletingcopies-old-Deletingasinglecopy)
- [deleting multiple copies](#Deletingcopies-old-Deletingmultiplecopies)

---

# > Macro (anchor)

Deleting a single copy

From the Locations table:

- either click **Edit** in the box next to the copy you want to edit
- or click on the copy to select it and then click **Edit Copy** in the Actions menu

You will be taken to the edit screen:

![image](media://bf9a51d4-e593-4012-a8d0-626525ea73ba)


Before you delete the copy record, if you want to re-use the barcode number is another record, delete it from this record and save the record.

To delete the copy record, click **Delete** in the Actions menu.

The copy record is then greyed out.

![image](media://3aa30ff2-2287-41a3-8a1c-931182087fbe)


In the Actions menu, click on either:

- **Restore** - to backtrack and not delete the record
- **Close** - to delete the record

Once you have clicked **Close**, you will be returned to the [Locations table-Library (old)](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3279251), with the deleted copy record no longer displayed.

# > Macro (anchor)

Deleting multiple copies

From the Locations table, there are three options for deleting copy records.

### Delete all copies

To delete all copies for this catalogue item:

1. click **Delete All Copies** in the Actions menu
2. The following message appears:> Macro (inline-media-image)
3. Click **OK** to continue with the deletion.
4. You will be asked if you also want to delete the catalogue record:
5. > Macro (inline-media-image)
6. Select **Yes** to delete the catalogue record; otherwise select **No** to keep it, but with no copies.

### Delete selected copies

To delete some copies for this catalogue item:

1. Select the copies you want to delete by ticking the check boxes next to the copies> Macro (inline-media-image)
2. Click **Delete Selected Copies** in the Actions menu
3. The following message appears:> Macro (inline-media-image)
4. Click **OK** to continue with the deletion

### Delete copies for your library

To delete all the copies just for your library:

1. Click **Delete My Office's Copies** in the Actions menu
2. The following message appears:> Macro (inline-media-image)
3. Click **OK** to continue with the deletion


---

**Experiencing problems with cataloguing? See the **[**Troubleshooting Guide**](https://soutron.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/HG/pages/3278467)**.**